Oh Joy!
2003-06-04 || bling
soundtrack � Wilco � Being There

We wandered around car dealerships tonight looking into trucks and vans. I felt like a criminal ready to hot wire a car and drive it down to Florida. �dude. pick up Dave, he�s in Miami�. Like a total thing. Oh, because I saw part of this film about an invisible man I fell like I could become invisible, and �get away from the guys�

Today I realized I have to write reviews for the six people who work under me by June 30th. This is a process I do not fucking enjoy much.

Bought a ticket to this gig, Wilco and Sonic Youth, at the Fleet Pavilion, which is in a few weeks. Should be an interesting gig; I�ve somehow managed to miss Sonic Youth every time they�ve been in Boston ever. We have seats in the pavilion, but every time I go to that place I end up wandering around near the view of the ocean and around the tables set up in the back. I don�t care about seeing the bands at this point, I just like being there to hear the music. If I want to see the band, I�ll do what I did Friday night, and sit two feet in front of the drummer at a small bar and enjoy it from there. There is no intimacy available amongst 10,000 people or whatever. Even amongst 10 can be trying for me at times though.

Had my hands on that new Miles Davis box set thingy that came out today, and even though I won $50 on a scratch card an hour before, I put it back down and thought of how much more exciting cigarettes and gasoline were. I mean essential. I have over three feet of Miles Davis on my shelf, I think I can wait a few weeks for something I have on vinyl anyway. Don�t.

111111111111111111111111111111111111111

�people for the ethical treatment of Darryl Hannah�

The ones who show up and just order a salad. A glass of white wine. Some shitty brand of cigarettes. Please talk about yourself more and more and more, I haven�t heard enough. Back in the day the mere mention of art, or independent film would send me to the bathroom of my office with a handful of cock and back to my desk with red cheeks. I wonder if Bono has found what he�s looking for yet.

aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

�Imagining Ted Koppel naked�

1993 � DUI

I been working so hard

Keep punching my card

Eight hours, for what?

Oh, tell me what I got

I get this feeling

That time's just holding me down

I'll hit the ceiling

Or else I'll tear up this town

Tonight I gotta cut

1994 � Assault and Battery

Loose, footloose

Kick off your Sunday shoes

Please, Louise

Pull me offa my knees

Jack, get back

C'mon before we crack

Lose your blues

Everybody cut footloose

1996 � Possession of a Class D Substance, Disturbing the Peace

You're playing so cool

Obeying every rule

Dig way down in your heart

You're yearning, burning for some

Somebody to tell you

That life ain't passing you by

I'm trying to tell you

It will if you don't even try

You can fly if you'd only cut

1999 � Assault and Battery, Resisting Arrest, Carrying a concealed weapon

Loose, footloose

Kick off your Sunday shoes

Oowhee, Marie

Shake it, shake it for me

Whoa, Milo

C'mon, c'mon let go

Lose your blues

Everybody cut footloose

2002 � Forging Prescription Notes, Receiving Stolen Property, Aggravated Assault

FIRST - we got to turn you around

SECOND - You put your feet on the ground

THIRD - Now take a hold of your soul

FOUR - Whooooooooa, I'm turning it

Loose, FOOTLOOSE

2003 � Outstanding Warrant, DUI, Resisting Arrest, Assault and Battery on a Police Officer

222222222222222222222222222222222222222

�Finding the person typing �naked kids� into a search engine and finding my website, and smashing them in the teeth with a ball peen hammer�

There are men who get to walk on the beach and walk by pieces of driftwood, and look up at their wife drinking iced tea up on the porch. Those men exist around us everyday. Tonight I�ll watch the movie with blacks on blacks I think.

BBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBB

�Finding out you have the Snake Power of Rathmohna-kha�

I PLAY THE GUITAR BECAUSE I ENJOY IT NOT BECAUSE I WANT TO MAKE TONS OF MONEY. NOT BECAUSE I WANT TO FUCK GIRLS WITH TIGHT IRONIC T-SHIRTS. NOT BECAUSE I WANT PEOPLE TO THINK I HAVE SOME SORT OF WORTH. I PLAYED IT IN FRONT OF MIRRORS FOR YEARS. I HAVE THE LUCK OF GETTING TO PLAY IN FRONT OF SMALL GROUPS OF PEOPLE FROM TIME TO TIME. SHOOT ME.

333333333333333333333333333333333333333

�I think you probably need to fuck off now�

I enjoy sunny afternoons with the cat out in the living room. I come in here when it�s the evening, and I think of how wonderful and exciting it would be to be driving my car off of a cliff.

CCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCC

�The number of men who play shitty music that Winona Ryder has fucked at this point�

People who are thieves never get caught.

444444444444444444444444444444444444444

�How many different drugs can I ingest in a lonely New Jersey motel room this coming Sunday night�

For some reason I could not get out of the bed. I was there all day. I opened the shade at one point. Men and women walking by�children running with hard soles down the hot as piss pavement outside my room. A television whispering incoherencies to me, and a nightstand covered in pennies, ticket stubs and one dollar bills. Who would not want to go home?

DDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD

�It�s now time to bring out or special guest, ladies and gentlemen, the skeleton of Gilda Radner�

Tomorrow when I get to work, I am going to pour coffee all over my keyboard, in the movie I saw tonight, someone poured coffee on a keyboard by accident, next thing you know Chevy Chase is invisible. I will become invisible tomorrow morning. I can sneak out and go get that box set. Don�t tell God.

555555555555555555555555555555555555555

EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

before & after


journal

extra

contact


credits