Oh Joy!
2001-02-26 || Walter Becker and Donald Fagen
Soundtrack � Ramones � Anthology

I�m suffering from severe writers block right now�musically anyway. I haven�t had any music come to me in months now. I write little things here and there that are good, but end up forgetting them the next day. I think I�m just bored with the guitar right now. It�s not a good outlet for anything except the same thing over and over. Same chords, same melodies, over and over. I can�t play the old songs either. After hearing them on tape, I don�t like them anymore. I think they are weak songs, and definitely not something I would want to listen to if I had a choice. I think I�m just slowly growing apart from �rock music� right now. There is a lot of mediocre stuff out right now, and then there� just plain crap. Thank goodness I�ve been discovering some good stuff here and there though. I can�t imagine if I had to listen to what Breaux listens to a lot of the time. Something like Mineral, or Boy Sets Fire, it�s all just boring music that will be forgotten in twenty years time anyway. Sorry Breaux! : ) Music just needs something in it for me nowadays. Listening to some 100 pound flake with wire rim glasses singing about girls with rolled up jeans is enough to make me want to vomit. I can�t see a day not listening to Charlie Parker play the same song 5 times in a row, keeping it interesting each time, different each time. This is why I am burnt out on live music now. After going to see improvisational music for the past ten years, I�ve gotten snobby. I can�t sit through a show where the band just gets up and plays there dozen songs, talks to the audience and goes home. I want to see musicians working for their paycheck. Once it becomes a job, and not a passion it just sounds like shit. This is precisely why I can�t see playing live now unless we are going to do something interesting each time we play. I can�t get up there and play ten songs and go home. I want to play what we want to play. I think the band agrees with me on this as well. I hope anyway! So that�s it, live music bores the shit out of me, as well as 90% of music out there right now. I guess it�s not all bad, as no music is really bad (except for maybe Fiona Apple, Britney, Christina, etc�although I don�t think I�ve really heard more then ten seconds of each of them). Steely Dan won Record of the Year, how fucking great is that? I think that�s the best thing that�s happened at the Grammy�s in years. I�ve been a fan for years, and to see them, real musicians, win, was the highlight of the year musically for me so far. That and seeing Trey with the orchestra last month.

I�m off to bed, I have nothing good to say here.



before & after


journal

extra

contact


credits