Oh Joy!
2001-02-15 || Veal cutlets and fur coats
We finally reached a settlement on the contract today after six months of negotiations. I am now out of the union and in management. This is good, as I enjoy telling people what to do...heh. Union people just complain way too fucking much, and they seem to just look for problems. It was kind of hard to sit on the labor side of the table and hear the labor people say they want more money for folks, regardless of merit. I really can't stand people who always want handouts, and I can't stand people with weak work ethics either.

Next week we go back to the studio to lay down my vocals, and mix the CD. I think it is going to sound okay, I'd rather not even have vocals on there as 1) My voice sucks, and 2) my lyrics are pretty much a non-issue. Breaux mentioned wanting to post lyrics on our diaryland website I am personally against this, as I look at our band as more of a music thing, the lyrics are second. There are some songs that mean something (Donald Fagen, Paul Stanley, Michael Douglas) but the rest is just there to fill in the empty spaces...I've always hated writing lyrics though. Anyway, if I had my own way, I would hide the vocals way back in the mix. For what it's worth, we had our first rehearsal last night since recording and it sounded like shit...Dan and I are going to go up early tomorrow to tighten up our sounds I think...

Is there anything less attractive than a woman with a drink in her hand?

So I've been on Napster the past couple days downloading some punk rock stuff. I think old age is hitting me lately, as my muscles have been aching more, including every time I get off a comfortable chair I do that old guy thing "Oh boy...", or "wheeew". So I've been reverting back to my old hardcore and punk rock music from when I was a teenager like Crass, Dead Kennedys, Adolescents, Minor Threat, Black Flag, etc...My turntable might be messed up as I tried to play a record tonight and it sounded too slow, so I want to get this stuff on mp3 and put it all on CD...

I've been trying to put together a list of my top 100 records of all time, with commentary for a couple weeks. I will post it here when I'm done, but it will most likely be a million pages long, so don't hold your breath. In the meantime, I've compiled a list of some artists I think are overrated.

1) Bjork - I like Bjork, but I don't really think she's as great as folks make her out to be. I think if she was overweight, ugly, and not from Iceland people wouldn't give two shits about her. Although Life's Too Good is one of my favorite records of the 80's.

2) Outkast - zzzzzzz

3) Rage Against The Machine - I can't really take these guys seriously when they are on Epic Records and they talk about all this anti-establishment stuff. They say they get to reach more people by being on a major label...while charging 27 dollars for t-shirts, and reaching an audience of testosterone fueled jocks. Check out Refused for a better alternative...

4) Fugees/Lauryn Hill - zzzzzzz

Okay, enough cynical music chat for the night.

Be good and eat your red meat, or veal.

cheers,

C



before & after


journal

extra

contact


credits