Oh Joy!
2000-06-09 || girl with a Yes-90125 tour t-shirt
the sounds of: New Order-Substance

I'm just looking through this tourist book on Nashville I got last night. It pretty much sucks that I'm going there by myself. It's fun to share sights, etc with someone else, regardless of who it is. The best thing is I can go at my own pace. The first thing I did was look up record and book stores, and tried to figure out where they were in reference to where I'm staying. I can walk around a new record store for 2 hours by myself(except for that poor excuse for a used store in Waynesboro, VA last summer-I spent an hour trying to find at least something, and walked out happy with a Red Robin Records retrospective 4 CD set for 15 bucks, and a sticker...I think I bought the best thing there...no vinyl either, yikes...).Tonight I was going to go down to the bar, but I really think I'm done with it all again. The last few times I've drank I remembered why I didn't like it in the first place. It makes your wallet lighter, and it's generally just not a good feeling at all. It doesn't relax me whatsoever-"I need a drink after work to unwind"-if anything it gives me a headache and tastes like shit. Did you know there's a difference between cheap vodka and expensive vodka? One tastes like shit, and the other one tastes like complete shit. "It's funny to watch you play, it's funny to watch you have to pay." we just recorded that song tonight(Sincerely, Jack Daniels). I wrote it a while back when i was feeling particualrly cynical on the whole bar scene, watching the people talk out their asses about their accomplishments, trying to make their resume sound impressive. It's all a silly game, that's mildly entertaining here and there, but every weekend? Come on...I can't wait to come on here Saturday night completely drunk and talk about how nice of a time I had, and the girl I met, blah blah blah : ) I try and think of all the people I've ever met at a bar...wait I can't do it. Good riddance anyway, I've had enough. Tonight I saw Annu, we went for some horrid coffee and "discussion" at Bickfords. Every time we go in there( I remember the 1st time we went there, it was snowing, it was the 2nd time we ever hung out, and I had a crush on her, I've never told her this-obviously, when have I ever told anything like that?) it's the same surreal scene. Lot's of folks who look like they'd have a good time at the WCW matches talking loud about this and that with the awful Massachusetts accents. The air conditioning was on so high that you had to immediately drink the coffee or else it got cold in 35 seconds. It made for an uncomfortable situation. We had a good discussion about things that have been going on in our lives in the "romance department". I never talk about that stuff to her really. She's good. Why do I only hang out with girls? Perhaps because the guys I hang out with are fucking "GUYS". The same conversations about either a) video games, b) cars, c)girls, or lack thereof, d) bodily functions, repeat a)->d). thankfully Matt reads, and has good music taste, as I find myself more often than not changing the subject when the topic of girls comes up. I can't talk like that anymore. The weekend should be okay i guess. Tomorrow evening I'm planning on staying in and doing some "home shit"(alphabetize[I still feel uncomfortable about having Sinatra in the jazz section between Wayne Shorter{how's this resume-played with John Coltrane, and Steely Dan} and Zoot Sims, but it just didn't sit well in the popular music section, but then why wouldn't you put Duke Ellington in the pop music section? He practically started "pop music". The same reason you have Pixies CD singles in the general pop section, but all other CD singles are thrown aside in a bottom-shelf-poor-excuse-for-a-cd-single-section), read, write, arithmetic).The rest of the weekend is up in the air right now, I feel like staying in though. I'm tired, and I feel generally...yeah, tired.

Shit, I didn't want to see 1 am tonight

pout-

before & after


journal

extra

contact


credits