Oh Joy!
2000-04-22 || the keyboard has been drinking, not me
the current sound is: Tom Waits - Rain Dogs

I can't imagine how many times I've come home drunk and put Tom Waits on the stereo and lulled my sorry ass to sleep. Tonight will be no different, although I'm not as drunk as I was say..two hours ago. It's probably a good thing I didn't smoke anything that would just add to the room spinning as it is now(it's a slight spin).

So tonight I went with Heather to the bar to see this old friends band perform. I don't think I've ever felt older in my life. The band was okay, not really my type of thing anymore, but they were having fun, as well as the audience, which was comprised of their circle. I know these people, but they're from a different place than me. They're all 21-22, and I just turned 30, so there's a bit of a difference (whereas they heard Korn at their prom, I heard the Psychedelic Furs, and Duran Duran). Either way, most of my friends are younger than me, I've always ben young at heart I guess. After a good amount of beer I met up with Stephanie outside in the pouring rain. She directed me to his bar called "The Lobster Shanty"(damn it's lightning and thundering out like a mother fucker right now). Against her suggestion, I had a scotch on the rocks. The place was great though. A real dive. I could see Bukowski hanging in a place like that. Lot's of old lonely people. And Stephanie got served at 20 years old. "I come here all the time" she explained to me. I was glad I got to end the night with her, she is quite possibly my best friend, even if there's 10 years between us. She's like a sister. A fellow Scorpio also, so we have alot to talk about. After that we went to this pizza place that I still don't understand. First off, there's no name of it, and there's no menu when you go in. They just serve pizza, no sandwiches, nothing pizza (tonight was probably the 10th time we've been there in two years, and I finally got up the guts to order something on the pizza other than just "cheese pizza please". They're open until 3 am or so, and you can drink cans of Budweiser in there. the whole place is surreal. There's just a sign that says "Pizza" in the window, and it's always crowded. I don't think there's a way to justify me writing about a pizza restaurant at 3am when I have to get up at 7 am and go to work, as I feel this headache already arriving.

out-

before & after


journal

extra

contact


credits