Oh Joy!
2000-04-16 || greetings from the planet man
I had a "panic attack" tonight at the bar. We've gone to this same bar every Saturday night for the past 5 or 6 weeks now it seems, and tonight I couldn't deal with it. I was with the same group of people, looking at the same regulars, listening to the same music on the obnoxiously loud juke box, drinking the same drinks. I took two swigs of a new beer, put my cigarette out in it and just got up and left. I went and got a cup of coffee, and then returned a short while later and sort of just sat there watching everyone of these people. Gone is my pissing and moaning about drunk people, blah blah blah, as I like to get good and drunk now and again. It's usually a fun time with me, I seem to act a little sillier, and enjoy the company of my friends. Tonight though, I saw just how desperate and stupid people can act when they are drunk. I'm pretty sure it's geographical though. Massachusetts seems to breed these thick headed jock type guys, and the women who love them. I witnessed my friend completely desperate looking for attention from any guy possible. It's sometimes pretty funny to see how weak some women can be, especially in these acts of teasing guys. I'm not saying women should give it up for guys at bars just on the fact that they are flirting with them. But, the guys around here are so stupid this is what they expect. I guess it's kind of funny watching men fall into the trap of "the drunk girl that's paying attention to them", but it's also scary, as you never know what horrible thing can happen. Tonight they just kind of left us standing there to go off to the bar that closes later so they could get more drunk and look at men. I probably sound bitter that I don't go home with one of them. The key expression here is: "let's go together", I usually presume this means we are hanging out. A goodbye would at least be courteous, but if having guy friend like me and MN is not on their agenda, so be it. We sort of discussed how we need to start hanging out with people a bit older anyway. Hanging out with people who are just discovering the bar scene now is pretty pathetic, and makes me want to vomit, but I couldn't stay in another night on this long weekend. I guess people eventually grow up, I just haven't seen any sign of it.

Last night I was taking a ride up to Gloucester, MA with a friend in the wee hours of the morning listening to some old music I used to listen to with old girlfriends in the same area 10 years prior. It brought back some nice memories, as well as some shitty ones. I go there at least once every other week now, but last night I was feeling particularly nostalgic.

I'm tired and cranky

out-

%%older_entries%%



before & after


journal

extra

contact


credits