Oh Joy!
2000-03-29 || round about midnight
What an awful thing that has just happened to me. I cannot locate my Kind of Blue CD. I found the gold "remastered" one, but can't find the regular remastered reissue that I bought a few months ago through the mail. For some reason I couldn't bring myself to buy it in a store.Well for a perfectly good reason actually: There's a bunch of records that you can't buy in the store no matter how much you try. Nirvana-Nevermind, Led Zeppelin-4, Pink Floyd-The Wall. I guess working in a used record store makes one grow cynical when it comes to music. I'm definitely not a music snob, I like everything, and think anyones art should be just that "their art". If Ricky Martin chooses to express himself the way he does, then so be it. Anyway, us record store people (well me anyway) always have that attitude of "you're just buying this now?". It's something I can't help. Maybe the guy broke his copy of Nevermind while skateboarding, or maybe the guy spilled bong water all over his precious Pink Floyd CD's. Either way, for years I couldn't bring myself to bring Kind Of Blue up to the counter just because I wanted that Flamenco Sketches alternate take. I guess I could have said something like "yeah, I know this guy who actually doesn't have this, so I have to buy it for him...he has no way to get to the record store". So my copy I ordered through the mail is gone at this point. I'm listening to Milestones anyway, which I think is just as amazing a record as Kind Of Blue, though obviously not as groundbreaking. Miles Davis needs to be heard on nights like this.

I get in these moods where I am full of negative thoughts about everything and everyone around me. It surprises me how fast these moods go away at the littlest thing like a smile from someone, or a note. I guess I just crave too much attention all the time, and once I am around a group of people who couldn't care less about trivial things like that, and just treat everyone equal I have to get away from it. I sometimes wish I was a bit more relaxed and social, but I always feel insecure inside about what the smallest things like what I'm saying, wearing, doing with my hands, and I get too self conscious.I think back to when I was a teenager or early twenties and I feel like I haven't grown at all. I still have these issues within that I will probably never get rid of at 30 years old. I just have a little gray hair on my temple, and I have more stories to tell.

It's funny how being interested in someone "romantically" takes up so much space in my brain. I've had so many big crushes I can remember all of them.

Marie-The mysterious (fake) red head that used to come in the supermarket I worked at when I was a little teenaged punk rocker. She had a tattoo of a bat on her ankle, and always wore these dark sunglasses.I ran into her working in a fabric store at one point and realized I was defeated, as a guy like me has no business being in a fabric store unless he's stalking the woman behind the counter.

Jennifer- A real live redhead that worked at a bookstore. I fell for her while she was vaccumming one night and had the best pair of shoes I've ever seen on a girl. I probably bought more damn books that summer than I've bought in my whole life. She must have thought I was really smart.

Alison- High school, senior year. A dead ringer for Molly Ringwald, who was every punk rockers dream in 1987. I knew the minute I saw her that I wanted to marry her. I found out a while into first noticing her that she was my cousin(from marriage, not blood!), and we became close friends. I remember a specific time when a friend of mine fooled around with her and I got pissed at him(my crush was pretty secret) "Hey...you can't do that, I li-...she's my cousin!".I should track her down. She moved to Los Angeles and was working at Tower Recods on Sunset Strip. I was out visiting LA once and dropped in to surprise her. I spotted her and went to approach her, when all of a sudden Billy Idol walks up to her and starts talking to her, she sees me, and gives me a hug and a "What the hell are you doing here?". Meanwhile Billy Idol is waiting for her assistance and says something like "Well allright, looks like you two haven't seen each other in a bit", and flashes me that raised upper lip thing he does in the White Wedding video while twisting his fists at the camera. What a surreal scene that was. Billy Idol.Is he fat and on VH-1 yet? Later in the day we went out and saw the singer for the Red Hot Chili Peppers in his blue Mustang he is in in one of the videos.

I think the big crushes like that are best left as crushes, it sort of adds to the mystery of the whole thing.

Okay, the fingers are getting tired.

Out-



before & after


journal

extra

contact


credits