Oh Joy!
2003-01-07 || Sheila and Darren-1980, Miami
Soundtrack � Richard Marx � Sodomy, my friend, my life

Today I had a ton of hits on this page from various diaries, buddy lists, etc. Just today though, the following things were typed into google, msn, and other search engines:

Where can I find xxx kid sex

Black Velvet original song

Girls love xxx

XXXX teen ass

XXX sex move

XXX old and young

Barbapapa English

XXXX bigger dirty women

XXX dog fucking

Listen to the soundtrack of XXX

XXX gay boys

Poor girls Xxx

The song �Sara� by Starship is quite possibly the worst song ever written next to �We Built this City� by Starship, or rather anything by Starship. They should not have been allowed to make music once they stopped doing drugs, psychedelic drugs. I assume they did a bunch of cocaine in the 80�s giving the world these songs. Lets take a look at the lyrics to �We Built this City�:

Chorus:

We built this city, we built this city on rock an' roll

Built this city, we built this city on rock an' roll

Say you don't know me, or recognize my face

Say you don't care who goes to that kind of place

Knee deep in the hoopla, sinking in your fight

Too many runaways eating up the night

Marconi plays the mamba, listen to the radio, don't you remember

We built this city, we built this city on rock an' roll

chorus

Someone's always playing corporation games

Who cares they're always changing corporation names

We just want to dance here, someone stole the stage

They call us irresponsible, write us off the page

Marconi plays the mamba, listen to the radio, don't you remember

We built this city, we built this city on rock an' roll

chorus

It's just another Sunday, in a tired old street

Police have got the choke hold, oh, and we just lost the beat

Who counts the money underneath the bar

Who rides the wrecking ball into our guitars

Don't tell us you need us, 'cos we're just simple fools

Looking for America, crawling through your schools

(I'm looking out over that Golden Gate bridge

Out on a gorgeous sunny Saturday, I've seen that low amount of traffic)

Don't you remember (remember)

(Here's your favorite radio station, in your favorite radio city

The city by the bay, the city that rocks, the city that never sleeps)

Marconi plays the mamba, listen to the radio, don't you remember

We built this city, we built this city on rock an' roll

chorus repeats 2x

(We built, we built this city) built this city (we built, we built this city)

(repeats out)

So what the fuck does �Marconi plays the mamba� mean anyway? We know that Marconi invented the wireless radio (well, we know because we just looked it up). There is no musical genre called �mamba� that I am aware of, and after a little research, I guess it could be a crude reference to mambo music. So, we listen to mambo, and then we have to be reminded that the city was built on rock and roll apparently. San Francisco, sure, home to one of my favorite bands: the Grateful Dead, and a few others like the Dead Kennedys, and ummm�some other people, but it�s hardly the mecca of rock music that they claim it to be. Rock and Roll hardly gave San Francisco its current infrastructure. Rice-a-Roni, cable cars, Clint Eastwood, and gay people did. If someone can explain what �who drives the wrecking ball into our electric guitars� means I will be a happy man. Well, I know what it means, but in relation to them what does it mean? They drove the wrecking balls into their electric guitars by adopting that cheesy 80�s synthesizer sound for these �hits�. One would think that if a band were asking to be taken serious as contenders in the world of rock music you would avoid this kind of thing:

8888888888

I�ve been seeing little creatures in my peripheral vision lately. The past couple of months they have been all over the place every day. These are not floaters, which are different. These are actual ghosts or something that walk by some the size of medium size bugs, some the size of cats.

I�ve also been seeing graphic images of people being shot and killed from the first person. People mostly in offices. There is something about someone being shot at their desk that is so�romantic�or ummm�Hollywood.

There is a Cardinal outside of my window every morning, not a Roman Catholic Cardinal, a red bird sitting outside on the tree. Yesterday there were blue jays and the Cardinal hanging out together with the mockingbirds and the sparrows. It was like whoever is the Rodney King of the birds in the woods behind my house had a meeting and asked why they all couldn�t just get along. (btw-The only �ornithology� I am familiar with is the Charlie �the Bird� Parker song �Ornithology�. Fuck, imagine if I became a bird watcher? There is a bird sanctuary in the next town over that we used to go to on occasion. It was also a place where people would go and make out with their girlfriends/boyfriends at night, in the parking lot. Someone told me that there was a legend of a �clown with cuts all over his body� that ran through the bird sanctuary at night. On more than one occasion while I was sitting down in my car petting the back of someone�s head I feared I would look up and see a clown with cuts all over it running by the car. Who knew years later I would have this interest in birds. Well, not an interest, I just noticed the bird the other morning while Robin Meade told me that George Bush was having enchiladas on Christmas Eve.)

Tonight, on the way to band rehearsal I slid on the ice and almost went right into this busy road down the street from here. As fate would have it, there was one car coming quite fast, and it passed the intersection before I got there. Once I got on to the road, I noticed the cars from the recently turned green light racing down the road. Had I left my house 5 seconds earlier I definitely would have been calling out of work tomorrow. Damn, tomorrow I will leave my house 5 seconds earlier, I don�t feel like going to work on Wednesday. Perhaps I�ll put on some hockey pads and a helmet, and just ignore the brakes all together! I have insurance. Hmmmm.

The concept of a �clown with cuts all over his body�, what does that mean? Was he running through the woods? Is he dead? A long time ago, when I was a teenager, yeah a long time ago, we would go to the cemetery as teenagers often do. One night we were there, about 4 of us. A male friend and I decided to jump into this grave that looked like it had been dug for a burial the next day. Upon getting in it we heard this loud, bizarre music coming from the back of the huge cemetery. Then we saw it: an ice cream truck with no lights on it speeding through the cemetery blaring that music. We assumed it was just some kids fucking around later, but at the time, I�ve never jumped out of a grave faster in my whole life. In fact, it was the only time I ever jumped out of a grave. Or climbed. So this clown with the cuts all over his body, I wonder if he knows me. That place was great in the day, the bird sanctuary. I will go there in the spring. It is a nice place to walk, with a nice pond in the middle and this little wood bridge and birds all over the goddamned place.

I just turned the TV back on, and a woman is putting flowers on a freshly dug grave. Eh.



before & after


journal

extra

contact


credits