Oh Joy!
2002-07-28 || presley in the studio pt 1
Soundtrack � miles davis � live at the philharmonic

Presley in the studio Day One (7/27/02)

Today was the first day, or as we said this morning on the way up �Today is the day�. After a heavy ass breakfast that had me drinking orange juice, coffee, and milk, we made our way out to the studio. The drive was quicker than expected, and after seeing the sprawling hills and farmlands, we arrived in the parking lot of this little building. The engineer, and owner of the studio showed up a little while later. What a cool fucking guy he is. He kind of reminds me of how Henry Rollins was when I have spoken to him on occasion. He�s a pretty popular guy, but he�s real down to earth and just into the music. He played us some of the new CD from his band that comes out in September, and it was out of control. I can�t wait to hear the whole thing. It�s 2 discs, and it won�t leave my player for a month I�m sure of it.

The setting up of equipment can be a long and tireless process. I think we got there at 12:30, and didn�t start playing music until about 5:30 or so. We got just about everything done in one take. The relentless practicing the past couple of months paid off well evidently. There were obvious moments that we marked down that we will fix tomorrow, but for the most part, it sounds great. The sound of the bass and the drums on it is so thick, and live sounding that I can�t imagine what it�s going to sound like when it�s mixed.

I was able to get high for some of the recording, which relaxed me a bit more, although I was surprisingly not nervous in the least bit when we got there.

So we got 8 songs, well the basics of them down, and have 1 more to do tomorrow, and then we get to add all the fun stuff to them like �guitar solos�, and vocals, etc. I can�t barely keep my eyes open right now, so I�ll be back�



before & after


journal

extra

contact


credits