Oh Joy!
2002-06-19 || an "artist" attempts to improve...something
soundtrack � Bauhaus � press the eject, and give me the tape

so I had a thought after reading an e-mail from a friend who said �people are stupid�, and then reading someone like Breaux�s diary, and well, my diary, where �stupid people� are often the targets of vicious words in the name of tension relief. What if, after all the conversations we have with our friends, and words we yell out the car window, and things we mutter under our breath in line at the grocery store, are wrong? What if, all of us are actually the stupid ones, and they are all living correctly? Fuck what a waste of energy if this is the case! Imagine that, the years and years of gathering hip, clever friends who stand on the sidelines and point at the �dumb fucking bastards� and laugh, we are actually the stupid ones! That guy/girl that drives in front of you in the morning and slows down all of a sudden to take a right turn, without using their directional signal. Perhaps they have some deep rooted reasoning behind these actions. That asshole you see in line at the grocery store who annoys the whole line, as well as the cashier asking for different bags, and using coupons, and having prices checked, etc. This person could be a brilliant person who developed this system when they get into a line to make things easier for mankind, not just themselves. That�s it, I�m no longer jumping to conclusions about people. I noticed there is a bit more gray hair in my facial hair recently, and I think this is why. I get too stressed out over people. Imagine how stupid I feel now.

MAKE A LIST OF YOUR ENEMIES:

� THC

� nicotine

� procrastination

� alcohol

� apathetic people

� the rock group �The Spin Doctors�

� insomnia/manual sleep deprivation

� lack of exercise

� writers block

You need to destroy these enemies. You need to figure out why you need to destroy these enemies.

WHAT IS WRONG WITH YOU?:

� I am lazy

� I can�t concentrate

� I am unhealthy

� I don�t lead by example enough

� I am always tired

� A lot of my stories have no endings (this seems to be a theme with me, perhaps a metaphor?)

You need to draw out an action plan on how you will go about destroying your enemies. You don�t need a day or two off to �think about it�. Too many people run away from their problems for a week thinking a road trip or two is going to help them. You need to put your self smack in the middle of your enemies and fight. You need to look people in the eye more often.

SOME GENERAL THINGS TO WORK ON:

� Look people in the eye when you are talking to them, and when they are talking to you

� Don�t fidget when talking to someone you don�t know well (especially if you�re lying!)

� Try to get to sleep a little earlier, life is actually long, not short like they say.

� Read more books, you used to read 2 books a week

Okay, I promise I will make these changes to become a better person, and to live longer. Thank you,

Christian Campagna

Salem, Massachusetts



before & after


journal

extra

contact


credits