Oh Joy!
2002-01-06 || the 64 worst moments in football history
Soundtrack � Tom Waits � Small Change

2AM on a Saturday night, and I�m drinking coffee again. Fuck this. I was just reading all the other stupid diaries of my friends. Breaux, do you really think good music will come out in 2002? Give me a fucking break. All the good music has been written. Seriously. Here�s my thought anyway, or my opinion. What else can be written? After all of the great songs have already been written? Everything nowadays seems like it was forced out of someone�s ass. This is why I enjoy improvisation in music much better. There�s just no soul in 90% of the shit. It�s like some schmuck writes this song and hands it to us to listen to and absorb, we tap our feet a little bit, maybe even hum the melody for a day or two. A year later where is the song? You�re going to tell me you�ll still be thinking about the Strokes in 2008? I guess I was fortunate to grow up in a musical environment. And as ironic as it is, my fathers job was to market music (an evil in itself), but he also opened us up to �other� stuff. I was a little kid in the seventies I was listening to Led Zeppelin, and the Beatles, the Stones, but also the Sex Pistols and the Clash, etc. I had the option to listen to commercial crap, but we generally didn�t. Fast forward to the eighties, I was a teenager, my friends now were all little kids. I�ve heard some horrible stories of friends of mine rocking out to Tina Turner, Michael Jackson (post Off the Wall), or any of that stuff we despised and it makes me cringe a bit. I don�t have much music that I listened to for a brief period and then just threw out and forgot about like a bad mistake(aside from maybe One Trick Pony by Paul Simon). Anyway, at this point, I just feel I�ve exhausted my ears of rock music, etc. I have no desire to play it, and no desire to listen to it. I�ve done good ignoring it by a) never listening to the radio, b) never watching MTV, and c) shutting down people immediately who try to force bad arguments on me (�Jackson Browne and Christopher Cross are good�- they are not, and never have been GOOD. How many times do you need to have that beaten over your head?). We were talking the other night about what CD�s in a persons collection should make you weary of continuing a friendship with them. I�ve compiled a little list here of records that immediately throw a red flag up for me about a person.

1) Meatloaf � Bat Out Of Hell

2) Christopher Cross � the green one with the Pink Flamingo on it ( rule # 479 of buying rock records is �Never buy a record with a flamingo on the cover, unless you are a Jimmy Buffett fan, in which case it�s acceptable� Unfortunately, rule # 503 is �Being a Jimmy Buffett fan in unacceptable�)

3) Anything by the Barenaked Ladies

4) The Fugees/Lauren Hill/Wyclef Jean � If they hadn�t have ruined a perfectly good Bob Marley song I would maybe let them pass. Owning a record by one of these people tells me that you feel like you are really in touch with music made by black people, unfortunately, you own no Gil Scott-Heron, Rahssan Roland Kirk, John Coltrane, Curtis Mayfield, Lee Perry, or Marvin Gaye.

5) Santana � Supernatural

6) The Eagles � Hell Freezes Over

7) Big Audio Dynamite � anything�okay they had a couple good songs, but my life won�t be any better or worse if I never hear them again. That�s it, as of 2:33 AM EST, I�m going to try and live the rest of my life never hearing B.A.D. again.

8) Jesus Jones � anything

9) Tina Turner � Private Dancer

10) Michael Jackson � Bad, or Dangerous

11) Anything by Eminem

12) Anything by the Insane Clown Posse � sorry Breaux!

13) Blue Oyster Cult � Club Ninja, or Revolution By Night

14) Black Sabbath � Tyr

15) The Cars � Door to Door

16) anything by the group Low - zzzzzzzzzzz

17) CSNY � American Dream

18) Anything by Eddie Money

19) Anything by America, Dan Fogelberg, Bread, or Loggins and Messina - these folks all get lumped together because they were all sort of part of that music genre we call �soft rock�. This type of stuff spawned newer acts like the Crash Test Dummies, Hootie and the Blowfish and a slew of other bands that have more than sixteen letters in the name of the band.

20) Anything by bands with more than 16 letters in the name of the group

21) The Band � Islands � My friend Jeremy is sadly under the impression that there is, or was at one point a Band box set that has all of their records in it. This is far from true. There is a box set, but it�s just your typical 3 or 4 disc affair. If there was a complete discography box it would be bad, as you only really need the first 5 records, and the Last Waltz soundtrack.

22) Anything by Chris Isaak � Looks like Chet Baker, wants to be Elvis Presley, there�s no need for this guy to exist in the music world unless it�s in the form of bad pseudo �romantic� music with a little pedal steel guitar in it to give it that �outlaw� feel. Ooh boy, I�m scared.

23) Billy Joel � the one with that �Rock and Roll and Cola Wars, I can�t take it anymore!� song on it.

24) Miles Davis � Tutu � Ever the Miles completist, I. I have 75 Miles Cd�s, and haven�t brought myself to pick this up. I�ve never even heard it, I�ve just read it�s bad. I think this is the one where he covers a Cyndi Lauper song on it. Seriously.

25) Any Dickie Betts solo album

26) The Grateful Dead � Go to Heaven (only) � You�re only allowed to own this if you already have every other Grateful Dead record.

27) Bruce Willis � The return of Bruno

28) Judas Priest � Turbo

29) Any record produced by Glen Ballard

30) Bob Dylan � Empire Burlesque (only) Who is the person out there that only owns this record by Dylan? I�ve beaten this record up in here a few times the past few months. I may buy it so I can actually hear it before I continue berating it. Again, unless you own every Dylan CD (which would mean you�d have to own Saved, Shot of Love, Knocked Out Loaded, Down in the Groove, and Street Legal unfortunately), you shouldn�t own this. Although I may retract this. I am going to give myself an assignment. I am going to buy Empire Burlesque this week and see what happens.

31) Anything with the song �Dream Weaver� on it.

32) Eric Clapton � Unplugged � No, plug the guitar back in Eric.

33) Arrested Development � Unplugged

34) Peter Frampton � I�m In You � One look at the cover of this record and you will know why.

35) Anything where the second word of the band is �Starship�

36) The Peter Criss solo record, and subsequent post-Kiss solo records he did.

37) Anything with a white person playing a saxophone who isn�t John Zorn, John Lurie, or Stan Getz.

38) Anything by Stevie Ray Vaughan � try Elmore James instead.

39) Anything that Steve Miller plays on, besides John Lee Hookers Endless Boogie record.

40) Led Zeppelin � Coda

41) Anything with Ringo Starr on it that isn�t a Beatles record

42) Rolling Stones � Under Cover

43) Anything by Bob Seger

44) Accept � Metal Heart

45) Anything by the group the Galactic Cowboys

46) Dio � Dream Evil � Ronnie, Ronnie, Ronnie, what were you thinking? Back to the castle with you knave!

47) Depeche Mode � Songs of Love and Devotion

48) The Clash- Cut the Crap

49) Anything with Sting on it that doesn�t have Andy Summers and Stewart Copeland.

50) Alice Cooper � Hey Stoopid!

51) Anything by the Moody Blues

52) Anything where Jim Morrison, Ray Manzerak, Robbie Krieger, and John(?) Densmore perform.

53) Pink Floyd � the Division Bell

54) Jethro Tull � J-tull.com

55) Anything that involves Don Henley

56) Mogwai � Rock Action � this band is more pretentious and self absorbed than me, but they don�t cut it.

57) Anything by the group Mineral

58) Anything by the goup L7

59) Anything by the group Urge Overkill

60) Anything by the group Soulfly

61) Anything by the group Therapy?

62) Anything where a person is playing an acoustic guitar standing up who isn�t Art Garfunkel, or David Crosby.

63) Anything by the group Joan of Arc.

64) Presley � s/t

It�s late now��yikes. Still loving rock and roll..



before & after


journal

extra

contact


credits