Oh Joy!
2001-01-10 || And as we wind on down the road
Soundtrack � Fleetwood Mac � Early Years Box set

Shit this box set is amazing. It�s that early blues stuff by the band that is just great. I recommend getting it to anyone that wants to hear some good blues played by white guys. Best Buy has it for 36 bucks, and it�s six discs. If anyone, Frank should by it. I have his e-mail somewhere I should write him and tell him he has to buy it, it�s up his alley. This is the shit. You even get the original version of Black Magic Woman, that Santana made famous. Anyway, after an enjoyable evening with Angela, which found us at a restaurant with limited money hoping we had enough money, and then we came here and hung out. I could hang out with her all night. I just cleaned the CD�s and wanted to continue with what I was talking about this morning regarding records, or groups with some longevity, so here goes:

1) Led Zeppelin � I through In Through The Outdoor

I put on the fourth album recently and that guitar sound on Black Dog still sends shivers up my spine, as does the whole record still. I dove back into the Zeppelin catalog for a few days and remembered how great a band they were.

2) The Specials � The Specials

This debut is one of my favorite debut albums of any band to this day. The ultimate party record, or ultimate soundtrack for a young anti-racist skinhead like myself twelve years ago. Reinventing ska in under 45 minutes.

3) Misfits � Walk Among Us

This is another I can listen to over and over again. The best thing they ever recorded hands down. This still brings back memories of being a teenage outcast, blah, blah, blah�The first time I saw the cover of this record I sat down and looked at it for hours, lifting the font from one of my favorite magazines still, Famous Monsters of Filmland, and how scary they looked on the cover�well all of them except for Danzig, who looked like a geek.

4) Red Hot Chili Peppers � Bloodsugarsexmagic

This is one of my favorite records of all time as well. One of the best records of the nineties, right under Nevermind. The second most soulful record by white guys in the history of rock : )

5) Nirvana � Nevermind

I haven�t listened to this in a while, but I know the last time I heard it the whole thing still knocked my socks off. Apparently a very important record to a lot of younger people than I. This record killed heavy metal, and revived good songwriting that brought to mind the Beatles, Cheap Trick, and everything in between.

6) The Beatles � Everything

Okay, so those first few records were a bit campy, still the greatest band ever. I revived my interest in them again recently. Try it if you haven�t heard them in a while. George was my favorite, followed by John, Paul, and then Ringo if anyone cares�

Okay I�m tired�.



before & after


journal

extra

contact


credits