Oh Joy!
2000-11-24 || Proud to be a reptilianaut from Planet Tiptheria
A little while ago my doorbell rang. Sort of funny I thought, I wasn�t expecting anyone, maybe the girl who stalks me was here to visit. I threw a better shirt on, as well as shoes and a hat and ran down to the door. There was an old woman at the door looking for �Helen� The place I live has a lot of similar looking units, so she started asking me if I knew �Helen and the kids�. I then realized, �The young blonde girl?� �Yes, she�s very pretty�, �that door right there� I pointed two doors down. The daughter was very pretty indeed by the way. So I just watched television for an hour or so. All week long I�ve thought of watching television today. I have no television in my room here anymore (well, no channels), but there is television in the living room. Shit, now I know why I despised it before. It�s so full of shit. They showed some footage of an old Bruins game, and it was funny because there were no advertisements on the boards, which litter them nowadays. You can�t get away from it. I guess the sporting people are into that kind of thing since it�s become such a big deal. I�ll check it out tomorrow when I go see the Bruins play the Carolina Hurricanes whoever the hell they are. So anyway, I�d recommend anyone who wants to have a brain of their own left to shut the television off whenever possible. It�s bad for your originality. Which brings me to my favorite subject�So watching people flock like sheep is sort of funny sometimes. But when it hits home it�s irritating as well as sad. The advertisements that glorify drinking alcohol are so horrid it�s not even funny. I�m not surprised that a hypocritical society such as ours hasn�t banned the ads like they did to cigarette ads years ago. The girls on the beach, the talking animals, the barroom filled with happy people. The fact that it�s glamorized in the least bit is a telling sign of people�s ignorance. As if it�s not glamorized in music, film, and literature already, we need more of it. It needs to be the backbone of every event you go to. What would a Sunday afternoon football game be like without a 12 pack of Bud. Then, when the Patriots lose again, you can slap the wife around and yell and scream at her. What would a night out on the town with friends be like if you didn�t get to visit the local cold sore display case? Gone are the days of a night out on the weekend with a couple of friends hanging out drinking soda talking shit and goofing around. To be an adult, you need to act like an adult, and get your beer goggles on. You�ll be much more romantic. I had my friends �taken away� from me when we all turned twenty-one years ago. �Can we spend one night not at a bar maybe?�, �No, this is hip, this is the thing to do now�. Maybe this is why I have gone through so many friends in my lifetime. I refuse to fall into it. People tell me to loosen up a little, what�s the big deal? If I could explain it all on a little web page I guess I would, but it�s useless at this point. I know how I feel, I know how boring and predictable people are going to be, so why go on? The stupid stories about this one fooling around with this one and that one, and this person throwing up, and this person getting into a fight is actually good fodder for creativity at the keyboard for me, as I�ve spent countless hours mocking and pissing people off about the whole thing. Anyway, I�ll see if I can get up some change for flowers when the next friend of mine wraps around a tree like one of those ribbons during the Gulf War.

She�s been following me, or vice versa for some time now. Going on ten years. She started coming into my record store years ago. She would buy heavy metal, and always wore cute little skirts and dresses and the like. Always happy, always by herself. It was a bit surprising though, when I saw her in Albany New York at a Phish show a couple of years ago. I didn�t say anything. Then I saw her again a few months ago when I went to buy the newest Phish CD that came out at a random record store on my way to work. I then would see her here and there. I saw her again last weekend up in Albany New York again, and then the next day she came into my store. I talked to her briefly, mentioning that I went to the show that she was at the night before as well (she was wearing the T-shirt), and that was that. I then saw her again last night at the record store near my house wandering around by herself in there. I left and then a little while later, realized she was in front of me at a red light five miles away from the record store, right near my house. Coincidence, or cosmic connection? Heh, yeah right. I go the luck of the Irish. Wait are they lucky? What the fuck are they so lucky about?

Since I didn�t really have a Thanksgiving, although I did �feel it� sort of. The general feel of the day felt like Thanksgiving. Every year it�s different. Tonight Dorian and I saw the movie Meet the Parents with Ben Stiller and Robert Deniro. It was quite funny actually. I love Ben Stiller though. Tomorrow, her and I are going to see the Bruins play. I got some free tickets today, and she was the next person I talked to after I got them so, she won. She�s never been to a hockey game before, so it should be fun. I could not name one player on the Bruins if you asked me by the way. So I generally don�t write that much poetry, but I stumbled upon this thing I wrote a while back, so here it is:

�happy hour magic show�

I think I knew you from before

Yeah, I know you

�One of the weak ones� I�d call you

Always teasing of course

Your wings were all burned off

Like Icarus you

A whole scene

Repeated

And Acted out

Over and Over again

You had crooked milk teeth and coffee colored eyes

You�d hit me

I�d hit you

You weren�t really attractive

You were just there

I think I knew you before

Yeah, I remember now

One of the weak ones

Who fell too many times

One of the weak ones

You lost me

You lost me at the park

I knew you all along

I remembered you as a cheerleader and an actress

Now you�re washed up

Waiting for some guy with yellow hands

Slide his bottle three stools to the left

A magician

Dumb enough to not know you

But smart enough to fool you

Fool you into thinking there�s a halo over your head



before & after


journal

extra

contact


credits