Oh Joy!
2000-11-06 || I.N.I.A
Soundtrack � Tadd Dameron/John Coltrane � Mating Call

For some reason or another, John Coltrane makes me type and/or write a bit faster than I normally would. There is something magical about his sound; it�s done it to me for a long time now. Like the hot summers in my room on the bed, sweating listening to his melody lines dashing around the room, cutting through the thick air. It makes me feel crazy sometimes. Not sure how to explain that, but it just makes my mind wander and think all sorts of thoughts that would normally not need to be thought of. Driving. Driving with Trane is a blast as well. Well, not a blast(note: that�s the first time I�ve ever used that word in that context. I would never say something like: �I had such a blast last night while playing Trivial Pursuit over Susan�s house drinking apple cider, and watching the Rocky Horror Picture Show��well actually, I don�t see how anyone could have a blast doing any of those things, unless of course it was with the Susan I work with, or if it was with say�1985 era Molly Ringwald, and we weren�t watching the Rocky Horror Picture Show, we were listening to U2 or something like that, regardless, it�s highly doubtful I would use the word �blast�, it would be more like �I had a great time last night with 1985 era Molly Ringwald/and or Susan that I work with playing Trivial Pursuit, drinking apple cider, listening to U2, or in Susan�s case, Iron Maiden�plus, if you know me, you know I could never have a �blast� or a �great time� watching the Rocky Horror Picture show�plus, you�re not supposed to watch that at home, especially playing a board game as brain intensive as Trivial Pursuit. So scrap that whole scenario�I would never say something like �I had a blast last night playing Poker over Jennifer�s house listening to Huey Lewis and the News�, unless of course it was that gorgeous girl in my music history class in college, Jennifer who I never got the guts up to talk to, come to think about it, I�ve never got the guts up to talk to anyone really�I would consequently, have a good time in any situation if it involved listening to Huey Lewis and the News), but a religious experience driving amongst strange mountains and trees whilst blaring Impressions from disc 1 of the Live at the Village Vanguard box set.

The weekend has had it�s share of good things and bad things. I guess on a �birthday weekend� level, it was good. I had the dinner on Friday that was good. Heather took me to lunch on Saturday, and then her cousin Dorian took me out on Saturday night. For a guy who complains a bunch about women and such, I sure did get a lot of attention and love from the ladies this weekend�I ran into a million people from the present as well as the past this weekend at various places. I bought a million CD�s, bought one of the new lottery tickets, won ten bucks, got a couple more and won two-hundred and forty dollars. Bought more DVD�s, and put a new guitar amplifier on layaway that I really can�t afford, as it�s in the �four digit� range of money, but I of course need it, if I want to continue the quest to be in the greatest rock and roll band in the history of the world, since Foreigner. Heh.

I guess I really don�t need to get into the bad things that happened this weekend. I�ll just say I was let down a little. Something I thought was going to go one way this weekend, actually ended up going the complete other direction. Well, such is my luck as usual. Life goes on as usual for me, no surprise there�I�m tired, and depressed now that I brought that up. Ick.



before & after


journal

extra

contact


credits