Oh Joy!
2003-01-31 || Anita and Chesley-1979, Dallas
Soundtrack � Funkadelic � Free Your Mind, and Your Ass Will Follow

It�s just about 3AM, just got in from the gig. Tonight was great, a lot of high energy. They had a Senegalase percussionist from Africa there that was amazing. He barely spoke English, but spoke the musical language perfectly. The crowd got off on his energy, and the rest of the band was in awe as well. I had one beer, and that was enough. I spoke to the girl whom was dating the leader of the band. It�s funny, even though I obviously don�t have any romantic interest in any women in Massachusetts anyway, I still am shy and reserved when talking to women. I�m self conscious if I touch my hair when talking to girls. I like the people that are at the shows, and I enjoy talking to the band members. I�m flattered sometimes, as some of these guys have played with some pretty big musicians. The leader of the band studied with Dave Holland, bass player on Miles� Bitches Brew. Shit. Hopefully I can sell merchandise for them this summer if they go on tour, like I did last summer. That was a good time. I can�t wait to travel in the summer. Actually, I can�t wait for the summer at all, I�m done with winter in New England. The cold and dark nights just rotting in the house listening to music and sitting around reading are not helping anyone here.

Tomorrow is the last day of the month at work, generally the busiest day of the month. One thing I�m looking forward to is the new world music CD�s we are releasing next month. We have a CD of music from Afghanistan, as well as some other stuff. I have this affinity for Middle Eastern, African, and Asian music that�s been growing for the past year or so. Hanging with musicians from Morocco, etc. probably has something to do with that.

I feel like I am going to vomit, and I need to wake up in 4 hours. Ouch



before & after


journal

extra

contact


credits