Oh Joy!
2001-10-08 || OxyContinential breakfast
Soundtrack � Django

Happy Columbus Day! I�m going to celebrate by beating the piss out of someone tonight. Anyway, my work doesn�t give us this day off, we have MLK Day off instead. Which makes a little more sense anyway. It�s now getting cold outside, which I am very excited about. I�ve had it with the warm weather. I enjoy the winter, so fuck you. I went on Route 1 what seems like 4 times last week. The Fair is here, yet I didn�t go. I was supposed to go on Monday night, but of course, my friends blew me off and went as a �team� or something. Perhaps they wanted to discuss the evils of women or something. Anyway, I haven�t felt like going out much nowadays anyway. I think this winter I am not going to leave my house unless it�s work, or band related. It�s so boring outside of my house now. You end up seeing the same faces, hearing the same conversations, etc. Seeing the same places. Even if I go for a drive, I end up getting pulled to the same places. It�s like, nothing and no one has changed. It�s a library out there. Where am I supposed to go, to the bars in downtown Salem? To a club in the city to just �hang out�? Give me a break, even if Diana Ross (circa 1969) was giving blow jobs down at the local shanty, I couldn�t be bothered to go. I remember now the abstract nights out at the bars. Getting in my car by myself after a night of drinking, feeling like a complete loser, feeling like �this is what everyone does, what a bunch of boring fucking people�. Nights not really having a good time. I feel like when I look back at that I want to vomit. I guess the irony in this is that I feel like just living a boring existence at this point. I�m exhausted with everything. I either need a shot of something, or I need to just live this boring, mundane �work-sit around at home-die� life for the remainder of my time.

In brighter news, I got some good music this weekend:

Vincent Gallo � When = Vincent is a director/actor/artist/jack of all trades. I first heard his music on the soundtrack to his excellent film Buffalo 66. I�ve been waiting for this to come out for a while now, and it�s been worth it, judging by the one listening I had with it last night.

Music Romance/Taboo and Exile � various artists = This is a CD put out by John Zorn. It�s got all sorts of good musicians from Marc Ribot to Dave Lombardo of Slayer. From Fred Frith to Joey Barron. This CD spans the realm of the Zorn world. A while back I decided I wasn�t into Zorn, now I�ve heard some good stuff and have been getting back into some of it carefully. I tend to like the noisy stuff a lot better than I did ten years ago when I first bought some of his stuff.

Buddy Guy � Sweet Tea = Buddy gets rid of the slick sound of his last few records and covers songs from a bunch of Fat Possom artists like the late Junior Kimbrough, Cedell Davis, and T-Model Ford. It�s cool to hear Buddy in this gritty setting.

And some other shit you probably wouldn�t care about.



before & after


journal

extra

contact


credits